About the U.S.-Ontario Province

SNJM ministries in the Northwest began in 1859, the year Oregon became a state. Twelve Holy Names Sisters traveled from the Mother House in Longueuil, Quebec to begin ministering in the Portland area. They built schools, founded orphanages and ministered in parishes throughout the region. SNJM ministries were later established on the East Coast, in California, Washington, Mississippi and the Canadian province of Ontario. Formation of the U.S.-Ontario Province reconfigured five predominately English-speaking SNJM provinces into one administrative unit in 2006. The Province offices are in Marylhurst, Oregon.