A- A A+

Anne E. Patrick, SNJM receives John Courtney Murray award

Congratulations to Anne E. Patrick, SNJM! On June 8, Sr. Anne received the prestigious John Courtney Murray award from the Catholic Theological Society of America (CTSA).



This award, named for John Courtney Murray, the great American theologian known for his work on religious liberty, is the highest honor bestowed by the CTSA. Charles E. Curran was the first recipient in 1972 and Monika Hellwig was the first woman to receive the award in 1984. Anne is the ninth woman to receive this award, bestowed annually at the closing banquet of the CTSA. Four other Sisters of the Holy Names who are members of the CTSA were present to witness this significant event and joined Sr. Anne in celebrating with her at the banquet: Mary Boys, SNJM, Miriam Malone, SNJM, Pat Parachini, SNJM and Sophia Park, SNJM. After receiving the award from Susan Ross, outgoing President of the CTSA, Anne expressed gratitude for the ways that family, friends and community members have supported her theological vocation, and noted that for many years she has been inspired and edified by CTSA colleagues. She briefly described her journey toward the study of theology and expressed the hope that theologians will be "proactive about encouraging those from...under-represented groups to find their theological voices and share their wisdom."

5 snjms at CTSA